Cookie Notification

We use cookies to help improve our website and your experience. Carry on browsing if you are happy with this, or find out how to manage your cookie settings.

Print this Page
Share this Page via Email

Improving Lives in the UK and Ireland

We are committed to operational excellence and meeting the power needs of the people of the United Kingdom and Ireland by using our unique electricity platforms and the knowledge of our people to provide the energy solutions our customers truly need.

AES brings its global capability to meet the needs of energy users in the UK and Ireland. Building from AES’ current platform, which provides critical energy and capacity to Northern Ireland and the All-Island electricity system, we can bring innovative solutions to move the sector toward the future.

We are Northern Ireland’s largest electricity generator, owning and operating Ballylumford and Kilroot Power Stations, both in County Antrim. In 2016, AES generated 11% of energy across the All-Island electricity system, representing 61% of dispatchable generation capacity in Northern Ireland.

We continue to invest to enhance security of supply, support decarbonisation targets, and create value for customers across these islands.  Recent investments at the two Northern Ireland plants have focused on environmental upgrades, energy efficiency, and the introduction of energy storage to the market.

The AES Corporation

The AES Corporation is a Fortune 200 global power company, whose mission is to improve lives by providing safe, reliable and sustainable energy solutions in every market we serve.

AES is organised into five market-oriented Strategic Business Units (SBUs). By organising based on geographic regions, we have a better social, political and economic understanding of our business in each market. Each of our five SBUs is dedicated to improving lives through our three business areas - energy generation, utilities and new energy solutions.

AES UK & Ireland is part of the AES Eurasia SBU (Bulgaria, Jordan, India, the Netherlands, the Philippines, the United Kingdom & Ireland, and Vietnam).